Posted by: conradvisionquest | June 2, 2010

Seared Cauliflower for Two. And carrots.

I’m usually pretty good about citing my recipe sources, and I would here, too, if I could remember where I got this one from.  Oh, well.

Seared Cauliflower for Two

adapted from who knows where

Ingredients
1 whole garlic bulb
1 medium cauliflower
2 cups vegetable stock
1/2 cup almond milk
1/2 yellow onion, chopped
4 sprigs rosemary
2-3 tablespoons olive oil
salt & pepper to taste

Method
1. Preheat oven to 400F. Cut upper 1/2 inch of garlic bulb, drizzle with oil, and wrap in aluminum foil. Place in oven and roast for 30 minutes, or until garlic is soft.
2. Meanwhile, in a medium size pot, heat one tablespoon olive oil. Sautee onion until soft. Add vegetable stock, and milk. Bring to a simmer. Then add rosemary.
3. Cut two 1-inch cross sections from the cauliflower, including the stem in each piece. Chop the remaining florets and add them to the vegetable stock mixture. Cook until tender.
4. Heat remaining olive oil in large skillet. Brush each large piece of cauliflower with oil and season with salt and pepper. When oil is hot, add the cauliflower and cook until golden brown, flipping when necessary. Add 2 sprigs of rosemary about halfway through cooking time. If you add the rosemary in the beginning, I find that it overcooks and gives the cauliflower a bitter taste. (or leave it out altogether, and just use as garnish)
5. Remove the boiled florets from vegetable stock. In a food processor or blender, blend the florets with one tablespoon of the roasted garlic. You may need to add a bit of the vegetable stock mixture to get the right consistency, which should be very mashed potato-like. Season with salt and pepper to taste. Serve cauliflower over mashed puree and garnish with rosemary sprig.

Wanna make the carrots, too?  Easy peasy.  Just peel and chop about 8-10 large carrots.   Toss with balsamic vinegar and olive oil, and some seasonings (I used salt, pepper, and a little Mrs. Dash).  Cook in a 475 F oven for about 30-45 minutes, turning periodically during cooking.  Yum!

We served these with the roasted balsamic carrots and a nice romaine salad. The huz cleaned his plate, but I couldn’t finish all of mine. It was just the right amount for two.


The original recipe called these “cauliflower steaks.”  Thanks to one of the comments, this got me to thinking.  Of course, the word “steak” refers to an animal product, and I wanted to move away from that.  So I changed it with my creative license.

Responses

  1. Oh wow. That’s looks awesome! I’m going to make that this week.

    • thanks, amanda. it was totally yum. let me know what you think!
      ~w

  2. It looks really stunning. This time vegetarain wins!

    • thanks, tes!

  3. Cauliflower….steak? That’s a new one for me!

    • yeah, that’s what the recipe called it. hmm, come to think of it, i’m gonna change that. let me know what you think of the new title.
      ~w

  4. Ooo this looks really great, especially with the fresh rosemary. I like the name seared cauliflower much better than cauliflower steaks. 🙂

    • thanks for visiting and commenting, Rachel!
      ~w

  5. Whoa, before I read the post, I thought the cauliflower was tilapia or some other grilled fish. That all looks amazing, especially the balsamic carrots!
    Love your recipes and pictures – I’m sure I’ll be back many times for dinner inspiration! 🙂

    • thanks for stopping by, Lindsay! happy cooking…
      ~w

  6. mmmm, i will be making this soon, thanks!!

    • your welcome, Elisha!
      ~w


Leave a Reply

Categories

