Posted by: conradvisionquest | May 26, 2010

Past Me vs. Current Me Part 2: My Earlier Posts

It was around the time when I started blogging regularly that I started changing my diet and lifestyle.  This is really evident to me when I read my earlier posts.  I’ve noticed that a few people have been poking around those older posts, so I thought I would compare how I felt then to how I feel now.

12/21/09 Winter Solstice Dinner Post– The thing that sticks out to me now is the photo in this post.  A cooked turkey.  It’s just unappetizing to me now.  The current-me would have turned down the free turkey.

12/30/09 Organic, Free Range, Cage Free– In terms of organic labeling, I would add that the label “organic” has nothing to do with how the animals are treated.  It only refers to their diet.  I think it’s a misconception that people think if they buy organic meat, that it is also “happy meat.”  Not so.  I would also add that even if I did eat eggs, I would never buy them from a grocery store, no matter what label they had.  They are allowed to get away with alot in terms of labeling it so you think you are getting the eggs from hens who run around on a happy farm all day, when in fact they are living on top of each other in filthy conditions.  Plus when I think about what an egg actually is, I no longer have the desire to eat one.

1/6/10 Piggy Goes to Market– I still share most of the feelings I expressed in this post.  However, I no longer agree with the concept of “happy meat.”

It’s weird how my point of view has changed in just a few short months. Has changing your eating habits changed your views of the world?

Responses

  1. I love your new blog, Wendykins! 🙂 All the best to you two, as you embark on your journey. I hope you have some amazing adventures to bring back home with you. (Do you like hot and sour soup w/tofu? I’m getting really good at making it!) 🙂

    • yay, it’s my sosae! hope you are well. we are getting excited as our departure time draws near. i am so gonna come see you this fall so we can be silly together while our husbands shake their heads. email me, little lady!
      ~w

  2. I’m really proud of you! That is a very little time to make such a great change. You seem to have come a long way!
    Ps, your blog looks like you have been doing this for a while!

    Whitney

    • aw, thanks for that, Whitney!


Leave a Reply

Categories

