Posted by: conradvisionquest | May 24, 2010

Summer BBQ Feast

Now that the weather is warmer, it’s time to enjoy food & drink with friends on our back deck overlooking the mountains.  I’ve put together this lovely menu with some vegan recipes I’ve discovered.  Perfect to lure in unsuspecting omnivores!

Vegan Macaroni Salad from The New Vegan

Grilled Tomato Gazpacho from eatingwell.com or Grilled Vegetable Gazpacho from Food & Wine (I made a hybrid of the two)

I like to serve my gazpacho in mismatched martini glasses or something else clear so you can see the gorgeous color!

Mini Portobello Burgers from Country Living- We made these with Toffuti cheese slices, or you can just leave the cheese off.  We also marinated the ‘shrooms in a bit of vegan worcestershire sauce.

Serve with a large caesar salad with vegan caesar dressing and you’ve got one hot vegan BBQ!

I made this menu over the weekend and it was a big hit with the huz.  It would be a great menu for summer entertaining because the caesar, macaroni salad and gazpacho can be made ahead of time.  Happy grilling!

Responses

  1. These look great! I will definately be trying these out and will let you know how they turn out. The burgers look great, and I think my husband (who enjoyed my vegan mac and cheese) will like them.

  2. That sounds great!

  3. thanks for commenting Paige and andipanda! i will be having leftover gazpacho and macaroni salad today for lunch, they taste even better on the second day!
    ~w

  4. Thank you for your lovlely comment!
    Your blog looks really good, going to have a read through your posts now 🙂
    Oh, and by the way, I think you have inspired me to have a vegan barbecue! Never actually had one in my years of veganism! xxxx

    • yay for vegan BBQ! let me know how it goes and thanks for the comment, Lana…
      ~w

  5. […] check out Wendy’s blog. I’m enjoying reading through her posts. Check out her post on a Summer BBQ Feast. I think it’s great for those looking for veggie friendly BBQ ideas. While you’re […]

  6. […] virtual home too. I’m enjoying reading through her posts. Check out her post on a Summer BBQ Feast. I think it’s great for those looking for veggie friendly BBQ ideas. While you’re […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

