Ok, contestants. It’s everyone’s favorite Vegan Quiz Show! Is. It. VEGAN!!!! These games have been very popular here on the blog. If you missed the previous episodes, please check them out here and here. You know the drill, I list some grocery items (in this case, all breakfast foods), and you guess if they are vegan or not. Answers given at the end, and no peeking. Ready? Set? GO!
1. CoffeeMate Non-Dairy Creamer
2. Dixie Crystals Granulated Sugar
3. Thomas New York Style Plain Bagels
4. Aunt Jemima Whole Wheat Pancake Mix
5. Cocoa Puffs
6. Morning Star Veggie Sausage Links
7. Tropicana Healthy Heart Orange Juice
8. Chocolate Cheerios
(insert game show music here)
Ok, contestants… pencils down. Let’s see how you did.
1. CoffeeMate Non-Dairy Creamer- NOT vegan! This contains sodium caseinate, an ingredient derived from milk.
2. Dixie Crystals Granulated Sugar- NOT vegan! Most refined sugar is processed with bone char (ew). If you want a vegan sugar, many grocery stores or health food stores will carry Florida Crystals, an organic sugar that is not processed with bone char.
3. Thomas New York Style Plain Bagels- Vegan! Slather a schmear of Tofutti’s Better than Cream Cheese on one of these babies for a vegan breakfast treat!
4. Aunt Jemima Whole Wheat Pancake Mix- Vegan! I’ll take a tall stack, please.
5. Cocoa Puffs- Vegan! Whose cuckoo for Cocoa Puffs?
6. Morning Star Veggie Sausage Links- NOT vegan! Contains egg whites and casein (milk product).
7. Tropicana Healthy Heart Orange Juice- NOT vegan! Wh wh WHAT! Orange juice not vegan?! That’s right people. This juice contains fish gelatin and fish oils. In my research, I also discovered that other Tropicana juices, as well as Minute Maid and Florida Naturals, contain things like lanolin (from sheep’s wool) and carmine ( food coloring derived from the dried bodies of female beetles). Ludicrous!
8. Chocolate Cheerios- Vegan! I won’t be eating these, because I don’t do chocolate. But what a great fix for all you chocoholics out there! And thanks to Jaime at Save the Kales for bringing this one to our attention.
Note: Sources, and people, can be wrong. Even though I am anal about posting the most accurate information here, sometimes I am misinformed. If you find any of the information here to be inaccurate, please let me know! Also note that just because something may be vegan does not necessarily mean it’s healthy.
Well, did the answers surprise you? I was sure surprised to discover some of this stuff. Stay tuned for more episodes of… Is…It… VEGAN!!!