Posted by: conradvisionquest | April 28, 2010

Sunday Sauce and Pirates of Penzance

I love Sundays.  Right now, it’s my only full day off from work, which makes it the perfect time to try out some of the more complex vegan recipes I have been eyeballing.

This Sunday we were invited to see my niece perform in The Pirates of Penzance at her college. We happily accepted and I’m so glad we did. More about that later. (tarantara tarantaraaaaaa!)

I had planned on making the Sunday Sauce before we knew about The Pirates, so I got up and started preparing it so it could simmer all day in it’s yummy goodness. I found this recipe at Maegen the Vegan’s blog, followed by the lasagna recipe. I couldn’t wait to try it!  You can get the sauce recipe at the link above.  Here’s the slightly adapted lasagna recipe with my notes…

This is not my niece, but I thought it was a cool photo. And they look hungry for lasagna.

Ingredients:
  1 container silken tofu (I used extra firm)
1 package frozen spinach, thawed and drained
¼ c. vegan sour cream
¼ c. nutritional yeast
1 tbs. garlic salt
1 tbs. onion powder
1 tbs. dried parsley
2 green onions (optional) finely chopped
2- 8 oz. packages of mushrooms cut into chunks
2 tsp. thyme
1 large garlic clove minced
1/8 cup red wine
salt and pepper to taste (more pepper)
Oil to coat the pan
8 oz. container of whole wheat pasta, cooked as directed
Sunday Sauce (you can use store bought, cheaters!)

Method:

Preheat oven to 350.

Ok, Pirate Kings and Queens…First, mix the first 8 ingredients together, making sure that there are no chunks left in the tofu.  It doesn’t have to be smooth, just get rid of the big chunks.

Heat oil in the bottom of a non-stick skillet, then add the mushrooms and garlic. Next add the wine and let the mixture simmer to cook the alcohol out. (I may have used a little more than the 1/8 cup the recipe calls for)Add thyme, salt, and pepper. Remove from heat after the mushrooms are tender and liquid is gone. I cooked them on medium heat and it took a few minutes.

Apply a hefty layer of sauce to the bottom of an 8×8 baking dish, begin layering the noodles, followed by soy ricotta, mushroom mixture, more sauce, and another layer of noodles. Repeat 3 times or so until the baking dish is filled. (the last layer should be a layer of noodles, then sauce). Make sure you are alternating the direction of the noodles so it stays together better. Cover with foil and bake for 45 minutes to an hour.  After baking, allow it to cool as long as possible, so it has time to set up.  We had this with a nice green salad with red wine vinaigrette. So yummy!

Notes: This recipe made a little more than would fit in the 8×8 baking dish, so I also made a “mini lasagna” in a much smaller baking dish, which I re-heated the next day for lunch. I think next time I will also top this with some vegan mozzarella before baking.

The Pirates of Penzance was an excellent show.  My niece was great (she was in the Chorus of Daughters).  It left me wishing I were in college again.  I would have enjoyed performing, I think.  But today, my performance in the kitchen was a success.  No standing ovation, but some applause.  And I can’t get that damn “Tarantara Tarantara!” song out of my head!

Responses

  1. Yum!! I’ve been wanting to try a new lasagna recipe (mine leaves a lot to be desired), and this sounds awesome.

    • let me know what you think! it’s even good as a cold leftover…
      ~w


Leave a Reply

Categories

