Posted by: conradvisionquest | April 9, 2010

Herbed Tofu Filets with Tartar Sauce

I’m not tofu’s #1 fan, but I have to say this was pretty tasty.  This is adapted from a recipe that was adapted from another recipe by Colleen Patrick-Goudreau at Compassionate Cooks.  Check out the original adapted recipe here at the Expanding Circle.  (btw, today’s secret word is “adapted.” AAAHHHH!)

Tofu Filets: Ingredients

  • 1 pkg frozen tofu, thawed, squeezed, squeezed again, then sliced into 3/4 inch “filets”
  • 3/4 c flour
  • 1/2 c italian panko breadcrumbs
  • 1/2 t ground pepper
  • salt – I’m not sure how much, maybe try 3/4 t?
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1 T prepared mustard
  • canola oil for frying

Heat the oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat.  Mix the dry ingredients in a shallow bowl.  Mix the soymilk and mustard in a second bowl.  Dredge the tofu filets in the milk mixture and then the flour mix, then fry until golden brown.  Dip in tartar sauce and enjoy!

Tartar sauce: Ingredients

  • 1 cup vegenaise
  • 1 tablespoon sweet pickle relish
  • 1 tablespoon minced onion
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice (optional)
  • salt and pepper to taste

In a small bowl, mix together vegenaise, sweet pickle relish, and minced onion. Stir in lemon juice. Season to taste with salt and pepper. Refrigerate for at least 1 hour before serving.

Notes: Apparently, it’s difficult to find breadcrumbs that don’t contain eggs in the regular grocery.  I bought vegan panko breadcrumbs at my local health food store, then added dried italian herbs to it like oregano, basil, and thyme. If you have trouble finding vegan breadcrumbs where you live, you can order some  at at Food Fight Grocery here.

These are also awesome dipped in mustard or BBQ sauce.

We served these with brown rice, sauteed carrots, and a nice salad.  As we were eating our meal, we talked about how it’s not the taste of meat that people like, but the sauces, marinates, and cooking methods that make the meat taste good.  We commented how we pretty much duplicated the experience of eating fried fish here, without killing any animals.  This was my favorite way (so far) to prepare tofu.  These would be great on a sandwich like in the Expanding Circles adapted (AAAH, secret word!) recipe.  I think we’ll try that next time.

Look for other interesting tofu recipes here.

If you have a favorite way to prepare tofu, I would love to hear about it!

Responses

  1. This looks delicious, I will have to make this. YUMMY! I love finding things that I can cook for my omnivorous husband that don’t make him feel like he is being “deprived”. I wish I had a health food store… ENVY! Lol. Thank you for the online resource though, that is very helpful.

    • thanks for stopping by and commenting! let me know what you think after you try this.
      ~w

  2. This looks incredible!! I’m definitely going to make it this coming week.

    • let me know how it goes!
      ~w

  3. Hey, why do you freeze the tofu? Does it give it a different texture? I have never intentionally frozen tofu before, although I think read about it. Also, can I just make my own bread crumbs? Or is there something unique about the panko?

    • i just like panko crumbs… they are bigger. it’s just a personal preference. believe me, if i had the patience to make my own i probably would! after my first tofu cooking experience, i was researching ways to make it better. my big complaint was the texture, and i also read that freezing it, then defrosting, then squeezing it changes the texture, and it does. it’s a little more chewy and not so mushy. i read that microwaving it can change the texture too, but i try and stay away from the microwave.
      ~w


Leave a Reply

Categories

