Posted by: conradvisionquest | April 7, 2010

Farmer Brown

Food.  It’s always been one of my favorite things.  But we rarely question what is presented to us as “food.” Why would we?

It was when I started asking questions about my food that I was taken on a journey that I would have never imagined just a few years ago. Where does this food come from? What’s it made with? How is it processed? Is it something I really want in my body? What company sells it? What are that company’s business practices? The more I learned, the more I realized I didn’t know. And the more I learned, the more horrified I became.

Between factory farming, animal cruelty, GMOs, MSG, pesticides, and big business control, I almost didn’t want to put another thing in my mouth again (teeehee). But, I am finally getting my footing in all this and discovering some wonderful meals in the process. Did I mention that I love food?

Another fantastic part of this journey is discovering people that are actually doing something outside of their own lifestyle choices to change the world we live in for the better. These stories are what give me hope that one person can make a tremendous difference. Farmer Brown has a great story, and is now doing wonderful things in the world.

From his website, FarmKind.org:

Farm Kind was founded to be a place where everyone can come to learn about issues concerning our food, how it is produced, and the many complex connections it has to our world and our lives.

This website is intended to be a resource for farmers who want to make the transition from animal based to plant based agriculture, for consumers to learn a different perspective on how food is produced, to help those who desire to reconnect with the land and become farmers, to support local food production, environmental and social justice issues, the rights of all living beings to be co-cohabitants of this planet, and how these things have everything to do with creating the peaceful world that all beings desire.

Farmer Brown has a really interesting story about how he came to veganism, and now does what he can to spread the message of non-violence, peace, and sustainable agriculture.  Check out his speaking schedule to see if he is coming to a town near you!

Responses

  1. It’s a fascinating journey, right? Scary sometimes… but fascinating.
    Some of my favourite books on this subject are “How To Survive on a Toxic Planet” by Dr Steve Nugent, and “Read The Label” by Richard Emerson.
    The more I read on all of these different areas, the more amazed and angry I become that many people just aren’t aware of this stuff.
    The blog’s looking great!
    Katie 🙂

    • thanks for stopping by and for commenting, Katie!
      😉 w

  2. I saw Farmer Brown the other day! He was at the premier of Peaceable Kingdom at the DC Environmental Film Festival. He is one of the most well spoken people I have ever heard. Truly a remarkable person. If you get the chance check out /www.peaceablekingdomfilm.org. He’s one of the focuses of the documentary, which by the way is life changing. I’m enjoying the posts!

    – Jose

    • that’s so awesome, jose! i definitely want to see that movie… i wanna wait until i have to time to sit down and watch the entire thing uninterrupted. thanks for the comment!
      ~w


Leave a Reply

Categories

