Posted by: conradvisionquest | April 5, 2010

Bunnies in the Bathroom

“The journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.”

Before I started eating vegan, I started veganizing my bathroom. This can appear to be a daunting task when you think of all the products that we use in the bathroom. And what does it mean to veganize the bathroom anyway? For me, it means using items that do not contain any animal products and that have not been tested on animals. There are alot of companies that don’t test on animals, but still use animal-derived ingredients in their products. I also wanted them to be as natural and organic as possible. Seem difficult? It’s not. It just takes a little leg work. And once you find some vegan products and companies that you love, you really don’t have to think about it anymore.

A great online resource for searching for cruelty-free cosmetic, personal care, and household products is LeapingBunny.org. This is an international program that uses the leaping bunny logo to distinguish products made by companies that state “no new animal testing is used in any phase of product development by the company, its laboratories, or suppliers.” There is even an app for your iphone or ipod. Now that’s convenient! Check out the web site to download. PETA has put out a similar iphone/ipod compatable app called “Be Nice to Bunnies.” You can download it here. Both of these apps come in pretty handy when you are out shopping and want to know if something is cruelty-free before you buy.

Ok, let’s get down to the fun stuff! Here are some of the things I am using and loving, along with some other product and company suggestions.

Hand Soap: Method Hand Wash in Sea Minerals– This hand wash smells great, and it’s non-toxic, paraben free, and earth friendly.  Method makes a tub-load (pun intended) of other wonderful products, including laundry detergent, soap, and body wash.  They come in yummy scents like vanilla apple, pink grapefruit, and pomegranate tea.

Sunscreen: Alba Hawaiian Sunscreen SPF 30, Green Tea. This is the only sunscreen I will ever use again. I’ve tried many natural sunscreens that didn’t cut it. This one is natural and vegan, AND it actually works and smells fantastic. I took this one with us on our week-long vacation to Florida and it did the job perfectly. I have no other sunscreen recommendation. This is it!

Hair and Skin Care: Avalon Organics and Alba Bontanica are both great companies that put out some wonderful products, including shampoos, lotions, baby care, and bubble bath.  Avalon Organic’s products are vegan, and most of Alba Botanica’s are as well.

Make-Up: Right now I am still in the process of veganizing my entire make up routine. I have tried products from Urban Decay and Beauty Without Cruelty.  I’m also having great success on etsy.com.  Check out my previous post about the deodorant and mascara I am using right now.

Cleaners: I have been using products from Seventh Generation for years.  Their stuff is great, and readily available in many grocery stores.  And not just cleaning supplies, but paper products, diapers, and feminine care.  If you want to make your own cleaners, check out my Green Clean Kit recipes here.

If you’re into handmade, natural soaps, lotions, and shampoo bars, click here to read my Dress Green etsy shop review.

These are just some suggestions to get you started. If you take it one product at a time, you’ll have a cruelty free bathroom before you know it! If you’ve got some vegan bath and beauty products that you are loving, please share them with us by commenting below!

A version of this post recently appeared on Mandi’s wonderful blog, Chic Vegan.  You can read it here.  Tell Mandi I sent ya!

Responses

  1. I’ve been looking for a good sunscreen, so I’ll definitely be trying the Alba Green Tea Sunscreen!!

    I read in an earlier post of yours that you use tooth soap. I’m very curious about it because toothpaste is one of the few items that has disappointed me since going vegan. I’ve tried Tom’s and Nature’s Gate, but they failed to impress. My teeth never felt clean. Do you still use tooth soap?

    • i have used tom’s as well, but that was years ago. i guess if i liked it i would still be using it. i find natural toothpastes to be very expensive! i’m still using the tooth soap i got from an etsy seller, although i think next time i will get a different flavor. i got lemon ginger and i think i am psychologically missing the minty flavor. i haven’t had a dental check up since i started, so i’m not sure of the actual affects on my teeth, but they always feel clean after brushing. i read that it was supposed to also help with sensitivity, but for me it hasn’t changed. my teeth are very sensitive to temperature in either direction.
      if you end up trying it, let me know what you think!
      ~w

      • Thanks for the info, Wendy. I’m definitely going to order some. I have sensitive teeth too, so it couldn’t hurt. I’ll definitely keep you posted!

        Amanda
        http://happyintrovert.com/

  2. Good info. At my house, we’re in the beginning stages of moving toward veganism in our diet. Makes sense to continue it on into the powder room. 😉

    • thanks for the comment and the link, maya! and congrats on moving towards being vegan! 😉 w

  3. ooh! just remembered this post:

    http://angrychicken.typepad.com/angry_chicken/2008/07/homemade-deodor.html

    in case you want to make your own deodorant.


Leave a Reply

Categories

