Posted by: conradvisionquest | March 26, 2010

Point of View

Happy Friday, peope!

I love Shel Silverstein.  And I love this poem.

Point of View

by Shel Silverstein

Thanksgiving dinner’s sad and thankless
Christmas dinner’s dark and blue
When you stop and try to see it
From the turkey’s point of view.

Sunday dinner isn’t sunny
Easter feasts are just bad luck
When you see it from the viewpoint
of a chicken or a duck.

Oh how I once loved tuna salad
Pork, lobsters, lamb chops too
‘Til I stopped and looked at dinner
From the dinner’s point of view.

Responses

  1. Thank you! I love this! Wish I could get it on a tee shirt…

  2. You reminded me that my children thought that Shel Silverstein books were the normal bedtime stories for young children…they had many of them memorized before they hit elementary school…thanks for sharing this verse.

    • your welcome! i love all of Silverstein’s stuff. the giving tree is amazing.
      ~w

  3. Nice poem…. love the picture of the little piggy… so cute!

    • squirrels are cute, too. thanks for stopping by!
      ~w

  4. My siblings and I used to read Shel Silverstein all the time before bed, and I had totally forgotten about this poem. I love how he writes for young people and adults at the same time. Oh, and I’m totally with SJH’s T-shirt idea. 🙂

    • i’d wear that shirt!
      ~w

  5. I looovvvve Shel Silverstein!

    • yeah, he pretty much kicks ass…. thanks for commenting!
      ~w

  6. Aw, this post just totally reminded me of how much I adore Shel Silverstein….he was a childhood favourite…my Husband and I even used one of his poems as part of our wedding ceremony!

    • that’s cool. which one?
      ~w


Leave a Reply

Categories

