Posted by: conradvisionquest | March 22, 2010

Mom, Memories, and Salad Dressing

Whenever I used to go to any salad bar, I would get Thousand Island dressing.  It reminds me of those special trips to the mall with my mom when I was little, and we would stop at the Sizzler for lunch.  I would always get the Malibu Chicken and the salad bar.  It’s weird how different foods can have such memories attached to them.

Just because I’m cutting out dairy does not mean I have to do without my beloved Thousand Island dressing! And neither do you, because here is the ultimate Thousand Island recipe, in all it’s vegan glory. And it tastes exactly like the real thing!

Ingredients:
•1 cup vegan mayonnaise (I like Vegenaise best)
•1/3 cup ketchup
•1/2 tsp onion powder
•dash salt
•3 tbsp sweet pickle relish
Preparation:
Whisk together all ingredients in a bowl until smooth and creamy.

I used this on my salad along with some yummy but not so healthy Bacos (yes, they’re VEGAN!). We also put it on our vegan Boca Burgers or Black Bean Burgers for our version of the Big Mac. It’s creamy and delicious, and still reminds me of lunches at the Sizzler with mom.  I usually don’t make a batch this big.  I’ll just mix the Vegenaise and ketchup until the color is right, then mix the other ingredients to taste. mmmmmm

Speaking of dressing, here’s a vegan Caesar Dressing recipe that’s also da bomb, the shiznit, delicioso, molto bene, I’m talking reeally good.

Ingredients:
1 teaspoon capers, mashed
1/2 teaspoon caper brine
1 small clove garlic, minced
1 teaspoon Dijon mustard
2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice (watch those seeds!)
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 tablespoon warm water
2 tablespoons vegan parmesan cheese
1/4 cup Vegenaise
Freshly ground pepper, to taste

Just mix up everything in a bowl and toss with some Romaine and croutons.  Now I am craving a salad.  Hope you give these a try and let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

Categories

