Posted by: conradvisionquest | March 15, 2010

Voted #1 Recipe (so far) by Husband

I am having so much fun finding and trying new vegan recipes.  I refuse to believe that eating vegan has to mean “deprivation” and “restriction.”  I am proving to myself that, if done right, it can mean “abundance,” “flavorful,” and “hearty.”  This recipe is a perfect example.

The Vegan Latina has done it again!  I decided to try this recipe I found on her blog after I had such success with the creamy mushroom fettuccini.  This one did not disappoint.  Now, if you are a lazy cook like me be prepared for some, well, time consuming preparations.  I usually don’t even attempt something that looks complicated, but I knew this would be a winner.  This is a 2 part recipe, but believe me, it’s so worth it.  Here it is, with my adaptations.

The first part of this recipe is to make the Sofrito.  Vegan Latina says : “Sofrito is the heart of Puerto Rican cooking so mixing up a delicious batch can do wonders for all your daily meals.”  It would be great added to a tofu scramble or mixed with some diced tomatoes for a flavorful salsa.

Sofrito Recipe: Ingredients
adpated from the Vegan Latina’s original recipe

2 cups cilantro (wash well and roughly chop)
1 large green pepper, chopped
1 large red, orange, or yellow pepper, chopped
5-8 cloves of garlic, peeled
1 onion, chopped
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 teaspoon cumin
2 shakes of Adobo (seasoning usually found in Hispanic foods section)
salt & pepper to taste

1. Place all items in a food processor or blender and pulse. Your looking for a small chunk consistency not liquefied, sort of like a chunky salsa. Note: I did this in my blender in small batches.  If you try and do it all at once in the blender it won’t work.

2. Because the following recipe only calls for a couple of tablespoons of this, the Vegan Latina recommends freezing the rest in an ice tray and wrapping in foil.  That way, you can pop out a couple of cubes next time you cook something with Sofrito.  Genius!

Arroz Con Gandules: Ingredients
adapted from the Vegan Latina’s original recipe

2-3 tablespoons Sofrito (a few cubes if using a frozen batch)
¼ cup jarred roasted red peppers, sliced
1/3 cup diced red or green pepper
1 15oz can green pigeon peas, or gandules, undrained (I couldn’t find these at my grocer, so I used lima beans. Still delicious)
1 clove garlic, chopped
½ yellow onion, chopped
1 teaspoon cumin
1 teaspoon garlic powder
Adobo to taste
½ cup tomato sauce
2 cups cooked brown rice
Salt & pepper to taste

Directions

1. Start the rice to cook.  I do mine in a rice cooker, and put it on just before I started to make the sofrito.  It was ready just in time for me to add it to the pot with everything else.

2. In a large pot big enough to hold all this deliciousness, heat a splash of olive oil over medium heat.  Add sofrito, garlic, and onion and sauté for a couple of minutes.  Add red or green peppers and sauté for about 2-3 more minutes.

3. Add undrained gandules, tomato sauce, cumin, garlic powder, Adobo, and salt & pepper. Bring to a boil then stir in cooked rice and roasted red pepper.  Cover and reduce heat to low for about 5 minutes or until all the flavors have had a chance to introduce themselves.  This is the part where I stir, season, and sample (but don’t eat it all!).  Some of you may like more cumin or pepper or salt, depending on your palate.

This was so great there were no leftovers!  We made it again the following night, except with black beans instead of gandules and I also added some sliced green olives… so amazing!

Update: last night we made this for our non-vegetarian friends and the Mrs. said she may try and go vegetarian.  This just proves my theory that the way to a non-veg*n’s heart is through the stomach!

Responses

  1. As a new vegan I am SUPER excited to read your blog! LOVES IT

    brent

    • you are hilarious and i can’t wait to read more from YOU! (uh oh, call the mushy police!) thanks for stopping by, brent! ~w

  2. I just love the way you use the term “veg*n” – it describes the lifestyle very well – especially for newbies like myself =)

    • yeah, that’s a catch all term used to describe vegetarians/vegans. some people don’t like it, but oh well. for lazy people like me it’s great! ~w

  3. Wendy! 🙂 I had to share this with you – it’s a super duper easy veggie chili:
    You need 1 bag of dry mixed beans.
    2 cans of seasoned canned tomatoes (I like jalepeno/Mexican style)
    1 super large can (you know, the really big one!) of veggie stock
    (optional) a few peeled cloves of garlic

    Wash the beans. Toss them and the tomatoes and the stock (and garlic if you’re using it) into your crock pot. Cook on high for 6 hours and voila! We eat this like once a week (all day long) with some crusty French bread.

    Kisses, Sosae
    PS: Post some doggy pictures for us!

    • that sounds great… now if only i had a crock pot! do you have to soak the beans first or no? and thanks for the doggie request… perhaps i will do a “meet my kids” post about them. i think i posted their pictures a while back? i’ll have to look… ~w

  4. Love it. Will make it soon. Thanks for stopping by our blog. We will add you to our blogroll.

    • hey, thanks! let me know how you like it…
      ~w


Leave a Reply

Categories

