Posted by: conradvisionquest | March 8, 2010

You Must Make This Creamy Mushroom Fettuccini

Before eliminating dairy, I used to eat creamy fettuccini alfredo by the truck load.  The man and I even went to Alfredo’s in Italy where they invented the dish!   When I came across this recipe on the Vegan Latina’s blog, I knew I had to try it.

Ingredients

1 Can Coconut Milk
1-2 Cloves Garlic
1 Cup Sliced Mushrooms (the more the better!)
3 Tbs Nutritional Yeast
1 Tbs Flour
1/3 Cup Water
1-2 Tsp Olive Oil
Dash of Nutmeg
Salt and Pepper to taste
Your favorite fettuccine (or your favorite pasta shape. I used spaghetti)

1.Put water on to boil for the pasta. Drizzle olive oil in sauce pan and set burner to med/med-hi. Add garlic making sure not to burn it and then add the sliced mushrooms and sauté until the mushrooms are tender or 5min.

2.Pour Coconut milk into pan incorporate then add the Nutritional Yeast. Mix well and let simmer for about 5 min (the coconut milk will be solid on top and watery at the bottom don’t worry just scoop out everything from the can and the heat will do the rest for you)

3.While mixture is simmering mix together the 1/3 cup water with 1 tbs of flour making sure to get those lumps. Add small amounts of the flour/water mix to the pot until you get your desired thickness.  (I used a little less water than 1/3 cup.  Even though the sauce was a little watery when hot, it did thicken upon standing.)

4.Add a dash of nutmeg, some salt and pepper to taste.  I used alot of salt and not that much pepper.  But that’s just me.

5.  Toss with your favorite cooked pasta.  Let sit for a few minutes so sauce can thicken up.

Suggested variations:  Use spinach fettuccini, add chopped sun-dried tomatoes, toss with your favorite vegan parmesan, or sprinkle with fresh Italian parsley.

I made this batch with twisty pasta and a combo of portobello mushrooms and regular mushrooms. Yum!

This was amazing!  And really simple.  The flavors of the coconut milk and the nutmeg were interesting and wonderful.  This is one of the dishes that I want to make for my non-vegan friends to answer their question “but what do you eat?”

If you like Hispanic cooking, (I grew up in South Florida and that is one thing I miss!) I suggest you check out the Vegan Latina’s blog.  She has some great recipes and ideas that I will be trying out.

Responses

  1. That sounds so good! I’ll definitely be making that this week!

    • you won’t be disappointed… mmm, i’m getting hungry thinking about it.

  2. I LOVE YOUR SITE, now I’m very hungry and need to go grocery shopping!

    I’m adding you to the blogroll, if I remember how. I’m still a tad wordpress illiterate. KEEP IT UP. 🙂

    • wow, i feel honored, Jaime K! i thought i had added you, but i guess i didn’t. i’ll do that now. you are just as cute as a button and i love your blog, too! can’t wait for more videos!

  3. Read blog about yummy mushroom fettuccini – Check
    Add to Blogroll – Check
    Make list of ingredients for yummy mushroom dish – Check
    Go grocery shopping for new dish – Um, I need to quit commenting and go to the store to finish this task

    • haha! i can’t wait to hear how you love it!

  4. I am beginning to think that I can use your blog as a grocery list! Thanks for another great idea!

    • hehee! your welcome! ~w

  5. Wow! This looks SO yummy. I haven’t really done much with coconut milk yet. I’ll have to try this!

    • this is the first time i cooked with coconut milk and let me tell you, i was pleasantly surprised! the flavor of it together with the nutmeg, which i also wasn’t too sure about, is really pretty freakin’ heavenly!

  6. ooo I’ll be making this on Wednesday! can’t wait

    • you won’t regret it! ~w

  7. Mmm. I’ve never thought to try a coconut milk alfredo sauce – this looks delicious!

    • yeah, i thought the same thing. i was a little skeptical until i tasted it! totally yum.
      ~w


Leave a Reply

Categories

