Posted by: conradvisionquest | March 5, 2010

Serendipity, Sanctuary, and Rolling Dogs

I believe in life there are no coincidences.  Things happen for a reason.  Sometimes we can see the reason immediately, sometimes later, sometimes never.

Today I had one of those moments that could be classified as a coincidence.  On my lunch break I was lounging in the lounge and listening to a Vegetarian Food for Thought podcast.  As I did, I flipped through my Best Friends magazine that I just got out of my mail box this morning. I stopped at this one article and put the magazine down, deciding that doing two things at once was not helping my concentration. As I did this, Colleen (podcast hostess) mentioned Rolling Dog Ranch, an animal sanctuary that was featured in the very article that I had stopped on in the magazine. My jaw dropped! What are the chances of that happening? Anyway, I took this as a sign to learn more about Rolling Dog, so when the podcast ended I read the article and was brought to tears with what I learned.

Rolling Dog Ranch is an animal sanctuary in Montana where unwanted animals go to live out their lives in peace. But these are not ordinary animals, these animals have disabilities which have made them “unadoptable” in the mainstream animal shelter world. Ranging from blindness to amputation, the animals at Rolling Dog don’t know they have disabilities. They don’t feel sorry for themselves. They just want to live and be loved, and that’s exactly what they do at the sanctuary.

In reading more about Rolling Dog on their web site, I was truly moved by what Steve and Alayne are doing.  There are so many wonderful stories about animals they are helping, but they need our help.  They rely solely on private donations, and after learning about their organization I made a small one myself.  Because many of the animals they take in require special care and often-times surgery, they need all the help they can get.  If you can, please donate, even if it’s small.  Because I can’t donate as much as I’d like, I thought I would also try and help by blogging about their work here.  If you can’t donate, tell your animal lovin’ friends about Rolling Dog Ranch.  Their work is truly inspiring!

Responses

  1. Oh, how beautiful. There are a lot of good people in this world. Thanks for introducing us to Rolling Dog Ranch, Wendy.


Leave a Reply

Categories

