Posted by: conradvisionquest | February 22, 2010

Burgers & Fries

I hate paying so much money for those over-processed, fake meat burgers at the store. So, I always have my eyes peeled for interesting vegan burger recipes. This is the one I have tried most recently, and I made it with my new favorite side, the carrot french fry!

I can’t remember where I found either of these recipes or I would mention the sources here. Forgive me internet recipe universe.

Black Bean Burgers

Ingredients:
* 1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
* 1/3 c. red onion, minced (I used yellow onion, still great)
* 1/2 cup mushrooms, chopped
* 1/2 cup oats, ground to coarse texture (I used seasoned bread crumbs)
* 1/2 t. salt
* 2 t. cumin (didn’t have, didn’t use!)
* 1 T. vegan Worcestershire sauce
* 1 1/2 t. minced garlic

Mash the beans in a bowl with a fork until they make a chunky paste. Stir in remaining ingredients. I also used some Mrs. Dash and let all the ingredients sit for a bit while I tended to the carrot fries. Form into patties (I got three big patties out of it) and fry in a greased skillet (I used vegetable oil) and cook over medium heat, about 5 minutes on each side (I flipped 3 times for even doneness, for a total of about 15 minutes). For the last few minutes of cooking time we put some vegan cheese slices on to melt. When finished cooking put on some whole wheat buns with your favorite toppings. We like Vegenaise, lettuce, pickles, ketchup, mustard, and diced onions. So easy and SO yummy.

**Update: We made these burgers again, and this time I had cumin.  They were awesome!  Would have been great topped with some fresh guac and vegan sour cream!

Carrot Fries

Ingredients:
* 4-5 large carrots, cut into “fry” shapes
* 2 T. vegetable oil (original recipe suggested coconut oil, but I just used what I had)
* salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. I cut the carrots pretty thin, ’cause I like skinny fries, but in retrospect I may make them a little heftier, but not quite wedges. After your carrots are cut, toss with remaining ingredients. I also added a bit of garlic salt. Spread on cookie sheet and cook for about 40-45 minutes or until slightly brown, turning over halfway through cooking time (or they’ll burn!!). In fact, we had some carrot fry casualties that didn’t quite make it (this is where the slicing too thin comes in!), although the burnt ones were kinda tasty, too! These were soo good I may make a double batch next time. This recipe wasn’t quite enough for the 2 of us, ’cause we love to eat.

We served the burgers and fries with some brown rice and a green salad. I know, I gotta start taking pictures of our cooking adventures! I am a lazy blogger…

Responses

  1. I’m definitely keeping an eye on your blog – there are so many wonderful ideas and recipes to replace all the CRAP food I’ve eaten my whole life. This recipe will definitely find a home in my kitchen – Thanks for sharing!! 🙂

    • glad you are liking it! i feel the same way… even though i am not doing this for health reasons at all, it is a nice bonus! ~w


Leave a Reply

Categories

