Posted by: conradvisionquest | February 17, 2010

Global Warming? But it’s snowing!

With all the snow we’ve been getting lately, I’ve heard many comments around town (I live in the Bible Belt) about global warming.  With every snowflake that falls, there’s shouts of “Let ’em say there’s global warming now!” or “Who can believe there’s global warming with all this snow?”  I think people are losing sight of what’s important here (and also just regurgitating what everyone around them is saying, without questioning if it’s true or not).

Now, I am a firm believer in the power of propaganda.  Hell, I’ve been a victim of it, as we all are and continue to be.  But, I try to be open minded enough to allow for error and other possibilities in my beliefs.  Global warming is no different.  In fact, it’s more convoluted because there is science involved, and most of us are not scientists.  You can argue until the cows come home about whether or not global warming exists, but that is a waste of time in my opinion.

The bottom line is this:  should we be crapping up the Earth? No.  Should we be using up resources as if they are unlimited? No.  Should we be concerned about the environment? YES!  Should we be learning about more sustainable ways of doing things? YES!  Global warming or not, I think the important thing should not be arguing about scientific statistics of weather patterns, but using our time to develop better ways of doing things, like better cars, alternative energy, and sustainable architecture.  Better for us, and better for the planet, which is the very thing that gives us life!  Seems pretty simple to me.  I suppose people who don’t “believe” in global warming may be using that as an excuse to not do anything.  Don’t get me wrong, I am far from perfect.  I’ve thrown out recyclable items in the regular garbage, I leave lights on sometimes, and I burn wood and newspaper in the fireplace.  I don’t do EVERYTHING I could do, but should that stop me from doing ANYTHING?

Now, if your the type that’s into science and needs facts to back crap up, check out this article entitled, “Yes, Folks, It STILL Snows In a Warming World” on care2.com.  Of course, for every article that leans left, you will find one that leans right.  And if you want to get really pissed off, read this article.

Do I believe in Global Warming?  It’s not a question like “do you believe in God?” or “do you think there’s life after death?”  We can use science to prove it, but just like anything else, it depends on who is doing the proving.  If you have enough money you can get someone to say whatever you want: scientists, politicians, the psychiatrist who is determining whether or not you can leave the hospital (oh, did I say that out loud?).  I like to see things for myself, so I don’t waste time gathering information about whether or not global warming exists or arguing with people about Al Gore.  I would rather spend that time driving to the recycling center, or tending to my garden, or building a composting bin.  You know, things that might make a difference.

So let’s hear it people! I know you have opinion’s out there!

Responses

  1. I dig your approach. Lots of folks lie about stuff to get their angle out. Who knows who’s lying, stretching the true, jumbling the facts, twisting reality…? I always ask myself, “Who stands to make money if such and such a thing is true?” You’d be surprised just how many people stand to make huge huge sums of money if a carbon tax is passed. Also, look at just how many people will continue to starve if a carbon tax is passed. Global warming? The climate’s ALWAYS changing. And scientists will always say what their patrons want them to – or else how will their work get funded? Pish posh. This world’s a social catastrophe.


Leave a Reply

Categories

