Posted by: conradvisionquest | February 8, 2010

“You don’t eat meat? But you’ll die!” and other myths

Well, let the games begin!  In turning vegetarian, I anticipated conflicts surrounding meals with family and friends.  I even read up on what responses I could give, knowing my tendency to react emotionally when confronted with issues I feel passionately about.  It didn’t happen as soon as I’d thought, but it finally happened! 

Around lunchtime today, I was asked by a co-worker what I was having for lunch.  The conversation went something like this:

Co-worker: What’s for lunch?
Me: Eggplant parmesan with a spinach salad.
Co-worker: Oh, you must be just like my daughter.  She is a health nut, too.  In fact, that’s why she likes venison so much… because she knows deer meat is organic and isn’t being fed any hormones and stuff…
Me: *gag*
Co-worker: Do you eat meat?
Me: No.
CW: No? But you’ll die!!!
Me: Well, I’m not dead yet!
CW: No meat at all? Not even fish?
Me: Nope.
CW: Well, fish is really good for you.  Full of omega 3 oils.
Me: *nod and smile*

I guess that really can’t be classified as a conflict, but it’s the first time that it has come up since becoming vegetarian a few months ago.  That’s if you don’t count when the waiter at a restaurant asked me why I was a vegetarian, almost as if to say “Why would you want to do that?”  My response was, “It would take about an hour to explain, and I don’t want to waste my your time.”

Today’s (non)conflict prompted me to google “vegetarian myths.”  The results were great reads, one of my favorites being this article from Slate.  It’s basically a “vegetarians are people, too” piece, but it’s funny and a great read.  I also came across this helpful chart about getting enough protein in a vegetarian diet.

My favorite “vegetarian myth” has to be that Hitler was a vegetarian.  Apparently this wasn’t true, but even if it were, who cares?  I’m sure Hitler took baths, too.  Does that mean I should stop bathing? Certainly not.

As of right now, I am still waiting for my BIG vegetarian conflict.  You know, the one where the whole family is sitting around the Thanksgiving table and my mother storms out because I didn’t eat the turkey she so lovingly slaved over for the past 5 hours.  Or I’m at a party and all they have to eat is pepporoni pizza and smoked fish dip.  Or we are invited out to dinner with friends and they all want to go to the local steakhouse.    I guess I am a little disappointed.  The rebel in me wants people to be shocked! Could it be that times have changed, and no one cares what other people are eating?

To be continued…

Leave a Reply

Categories

