Posted by: conradvisionquest | January 29, 2010

Armpits & Eyelashes: Etsy Product Reviews

In trying to do what’s good for myself, the planet, and animals, I am always on the lookout for quality products that provide all three.  This is not so difficult in the produce department.  But it becomes time consuming in the bath and beauty department.  The 2 questions I ask when looking for something specific are: “does the company/manufacturer/whoever test on animals?” and “are the ingredients organic/natural?”  Other things I may consider are packaging, company politics, and whether or not a charity is being supported.

I have found Etsy to be a wonderful source for bath and beauty products that fit my criteria, and I must admit I’m going a little overboard.  I think I have enough soap stockpiled for many months! Anyway, here are some gems that I found that you might enjoy…

Pitt Stop deodorant from SobeBotanicals

After reading about the possible link between aluminum in antiperspirants and breast cancer, I found a commercial deodorant that does not contain aluminum by Arm & Hammer.  However, I have since discovered that Arm & Hammer tests on animals, so that was out.  That’s what brought me to purchase Pitt Stop by SobeBotanicals.  Keep in mind this is a deodorant and NOT an antiperspirant!  It is unnatural to stop your body from doing something it does automatically, and sweating is one of those things.  I’ve tried many natural deodorants including Burt’s Bees, Nature’s Gate, and Avalon, and I must say, this one works and smells the best!  And Lexi offers over 300 scents to choose from, including designer-inspired duplicate fragrances.  Yes, you read that correctly, OVER 300! I chose the “oxygen” scent, which to me smells much like baby powder.  The scent lasts all day!

Cocoa Addict soap from Dress Green

In a past post I mentioned Dress Green, an Etsy soap shop I wanted to try.  What attracted me to this shop was the natural ingredients and a dedication to the environment and animals.  I finally got to sample some soaps and here’s the scoop.  I ordered the set of three soaps in the following scents: cocoa addict, lemon sugar, and vanilla mint.  I also received a sample of the pomegranate juice soap, which smells divine!  My favorite of the full-size bars is the cocoa addict. The bars are big and chunky, and lather up nicely.  And the yummy scents linger in the bathroom for awhile.  Stop by the shop for other goodies like facial care, body butters, and lip balms.  On my Dress Green wish list is the mint & vanilla moisturizing creme and pomegranate juice shampoo bar.

vegan mascara by The All Natural Face

Natural and cruelty-free mascara that actually works has been somewhat like my Holy Grail… my white whale if you will.  Crystal over at The All Natural Face heard about my search, and was kind enough to send me a sample of her “Got Length” mascara.  Her vegan formula is the best natural and cruelty-free formula I have found so far.  She also makes mineral make-up for eyes, lips, and face.  She sent me samples of her foundation (she makes a TON of shades) and lip plumper, which I haven’t tried yet.  Best of all, ALL of her mineral make-up is VEGAN!   YAY!

Got some natural goodies that you love? We wanna hear about ’em below…

Leave a Reply

Categories

