Posted by: conradvisionquest | January 27, 2010

Hallelujah! It’s The Union…

It’s been a cold and rainy weekend here in the North Georgia Mountains.  And even though I had plans to do a 10 mile hike and clean out the garage (of course I’m not kidding! or am I?), the weather had other things in mind, like raining constantly for 24 hours and blow the wind so hard that the house made scary noises.

While I was stuck inside I discovered some new favorite things.  As some of you may know, there was a telethon to help raise money for Haiti on Friday, 1/22, called Hope for Haiti Now.  It included performances from Madonna, Taylor Swift, Bono, Rihanna, Jay-Z, Alicia Keys, Mary J. Blige, and Christina Aguilera to name a few.  But my new favorite song that I am listening to over and over is the haunting version of Leonard Cohen’s Hallelujah done by Justin Timberlake, Matt Morris, and Charlie Sexton.  I’m a big fan of Cohen’s song writing (I’m Your Man is one of my faves), but even he has admitted his songs are best performed by others.   I’ve since listened to all the other versions of Hallelujah and as far as I’m concerned, Justin’s blows them all away.  Now, I know, we’re not supposed to like this former member of N’Sync, but listen to this song, and you will have a new-found respect for the ex-Mickey Mouse Club member. You can download all the music from the telethon for $7.99, or individual songs for 99 cents, on itunes.  All of that money goes to various charities for Haiti earthquake relief.

Like I said, it was raining all day Sunday, and my favorite thing to do when it’s raining is nap watch a movie.  We watched “The Union: The Business Behind Getting High.” Now don’t all go thinking that I’m sittin’ at home, making brownies, watching a movie about pot and eating Cheetos until my fingers turn solid orange… I was interested in this movie because I have been following the “legalize it” movement over the years and often wondered why alcohol and tobacco are legal while pot remains illegal.  This documentary answered alot of those questions, and in my opinion is just another example of how we are having the wool pulled over our eyes all in the name of the Almighty Dollar.  I recommend it to everyone, not just to you brownie eaters!

Leave a Reply

Categories

