Posted by: conradvisionquest | January 20, 2010

Music faves to share and the return of Sade.

I have always loved music.  I think it comes from my mom, who was very folky, played the guitar, and even wrote an original lullaby for me.  I still have it on cassette tape somewhere, I’ll have to dig that up.  Cassette tape? Ooops, I think I just dated myself… Oh well.

Sade turned 51 on January 16th! Crazy

Speaking of old people, Sade’s new album is coming out this February!  I just watched the video for the first single, Soldier of Love, and I have to say I love it.  It’s still Sade, but modernized a little.  I can’t wait to hear the rest of the album, the first for her and the band in ten years. Now don’t get all sassed up about the “old people” comment.  That’s a compliment.  Can you believe she just turned 51 and looks the same as she did 20 years ago!  She must have made a deal with the devil or something. 

Speaking of music, I thought I would take this opportunity to share some of my favorite songs.  I always have songs playing in my head, sometimes ones I don’t even want there!  (btw if this happens to you, here are some steps to take to rid your brain of the unwanted tune) But these are songs I listen to over and over and still love them. 

“Butterflies Instead” by K’s Choice– I forget how I came across this Belgian band, but somewhere along the line I was exposed to their album, Cocoon Crash.  This song tells the story of a young girl whose parents are getting divorced.  I’ve always thought it was lyrically brilliant.  The album has other great songs, but this is my favorite.

Matisyahu

“One Day” by Matisyahu– Of his latest album, Light, this is a great pick-me-upper.  It always fills me with hope almost to the point of tears.    It’s a good song to listen to first thing in the morning.

“White Trash Wedding” by the Dixie Chicks– Now, I would be shunned for saying that I liked the Dixie Chicks where I live, moreso for this song in particular.  I’m not going to get into a rant here about how the Dixie Chicks have the same freedom of speech the people who told them to Shut Up and Sing have, or get on my political soap box about about how many people are now also ashamed of W. Bush, or that the Chicks are more courageous for standing behind their beliefs than most of us are.  Nope, I’m not gonna do that.  I’m just gonna talk about this song, which made me laugh out loud the first time I heard it, and still does.  I admire them as musicians.  This song is somewhere in between an instrumental and a song with full lyrics.  It makes me want to do a jig.  Check it out.

Erykah Badu

“Call Tyrone” by Erykah Badu– This song is brilliant.  I love Erykah Badu, and this live song has it all.  Soulful, honest, hillarious all rolled into a little ball for your listening enjoyment.

As you can see, I am all over the place in my musical tastes, and I like it that way.  I’d love to hear any out-of-the-way songs you like.  Share with links please…

Leave a Reply

Categories

