Posted by: conradvisionquest | January 18, 2010

Charity Navigator

I know if I were a person reading my blog, I would want to know a little bit more about why I (this is “I” the blogger we’re talking about now) chose the organizations I (blogger again) did to link with on the sidebar.  Wow, there are too many of me in this scenario!

I’m always discovering new organizations and causes to support, and I thought it was interesting how I came to find some of them.    For some crazy reason, I thought you might, too.

I often check the “most viewed” section of the youtube web site to see what’s going on in the crazy youtube world, and what nuttiness people are watching.  This is how I came upon this video from a youtuber whose videos are usually not so serious.  It’s cool to come across multi-dimensional people!  Anyway this lisanova chick visits a community farm that supports refugees of many different countries.   Yesssss, farming for a good cause, I’m sooo into it!  That’s what got me interested in finding out more about the IRC.  So I did.

I don’t just randomly throw up links to charities that sound good.  I investigate!  I usually use Charity Navigator, which is an organization that rates charities on a four star scale based on things like efficiency and how they use their funds.  The IRC is a 4 star charity according to the navigator.  Check them out on their web site and read about how they are helping the victims of the recent earthquake in Haiti.

Here’s another story about how I came to a wonderful organization… and it proves that advertising works!  I saw this video on hulu right before I was about the watch an episode of The View The Colbert Report.  I thought it was funny in a cute kinda way, and I immediately went to the Surf Rider Foundation’s web site.  They are doing some wonderful work.  Growing up in South Florida and vacationing in the Keys every summer has given me an undying love and appreciation for the ocean as a beautiful natural resource.  And the man surfs.  It was a no-brainer.   This environmental group also gets 4 stars on Charity Navigator.

If you’re into giving and are looking for worthy causes to support, you have to visit Betty’s blog, which she calls the  What Gives 365 Project. Betty explains:

Here’s the plan: Every day for 365 days I’m going to give $100 to causes, people, and organizations that I believe are doing good work and are worthy of support. And every day, I’m going to write about why I chose to give– which hopefully will inspire other people to give a few bucks of their hard-earned money, too. Or not. Whatever the outcome, I’ll at least have the deep pleasure of finding, supporting, and shining a light on 365 people, places and things that are making the world a better place

How cool is that?  I came across this blog after it was featured on the front page of WordPress.  I can’t tell you how inspiring it was to read about this concept, and how admirable and creative I thought the idea was.  It’s humbling, really.  Thank you, Betty!

Of course there are the stand-by charities that I donate money to annually (Best Friends, Farm Sanctuary, Union of Concerned Scientists). You can click on the links on the side bar for these.

Do you support a charity that is near and dear to your heart? I wanna hear, so spill in the comments…

Leave a Reply

Categories

