Posted by: conradvisionquest | January 5, 2010

‘Shroom Burgers Recipe (not the trippy kind)

I’ve always had a hearty appetite since I was a wee lass.  So going veggie has it’s challenges for me.  Finding hearty vegetarian recipes using common ingredients found in most kitchens seems to be somewhat of a treasure hunt.  I like to share these jewels with you, because I wish there was a place I could get yummy vegetarian recipes that have flavor and bulk!

As I have craved a cheeseburger a time or two, I have been hunting for the perfect veggie burger recipe.  I found this one on this list put together by about.com noting the top ten most popular veggie burger recipes.  This is the first one I have tried, only because it looked easy, tasty, and I had most of the ingredients already.

Ingredients:

  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 1/2 lb mushrooms, roughly chopped (combination of crimini, shiitake, and Portobello)
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped onion
  • 6 cloves minced garlic
  • 2/3 cup rolled oats
  • 1/3 cup shredded Parmesan
  • 3/4 cup breadcrumbs
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1 tbsp chopped fresh parsley, or 1 tsp dried parsley flakes
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper

Preparation:

Heat 1 tbsp oil in large saucepan. Saute the mushrooms, onions and garlic over medium heat for about 10 minutes, or until the liquid boils off, and the mushrooms begin to saute.

In large bowl, add mushroom mixture to oats, Parmesan, breadcrumbs, eggs, parsley, oregano, salt and pepper. Mix well. Allow to sit for 15 minutes to develop the flavors. Shape into patties. Heat 2 tbsp oil in large non-stick skillet, over medium heat. Fry patties, cooking about 5 minutes on each side, or until golden brown.  Serve with your favorite burger toppings.

Notes: I made about half of this recipe, as it’s just the mister and me and I wasn’t sure if we would like it.  It made 3 burgers, and they were yum!  We had them with melted cheddar, ketchup, mayo, and mustard.  Even the mister liked them.  I look forward to trying other recipes from about.com’s list, including this potato and bean recipe that is also vegan.

Got a great veggie burger recipe to share? Let’s hear it!

Responses

  1. I want this RIGHT NOW!!! It looks delish!

    Have any trippy shroom recipes by any chance? haha

    • sure, there’s this cool tea you can, i mean…um, i don’t know what trippy shrooms are… uh, i just heard about ’em….

  2. Ha, these are awesome! I’ve been hunting around, poking at different recipe’s for veggie burgers, and this is certainly a different take. Typically I see “HURR MASH BEANS TOGETHER” but this is refreshing.

    Would you mind if I added you to my blogroll? I enjoy what I see!

    • go right ahead! thanks!
      ~w


Leave a Reply

Categories

