Posted by: conradvisionquest | January 1, 2010

Movies I Saw in 2009: Part 2

Happy New Year!  Bonne Annee! Prosit Neujahr! Buon Capodanno! Feliz Ano Novo! Feliz Ano Nuevo! Shanah Tovah! Ok, Let’s continue on our fabulous film journey, shall we?

11. “The Prisoner: How I Planned to Kill Tony Blair”- Political documentary about about an Iraqui journalist taken by American Soldiers to Abu Ghraib.  Interesting and eye opening.

12. “The Station Agent”- The characters in this movie were so moving to me, I think this would make an excellent series.  It’s about a young dwarf named Finbar, who decides to relocate and live a life of solitude after the death of his best friend.  This independent comedy has won a bunch of awards.  Good stuff.

13. “Dear Zachary”- I must warn you, if you have children this movie will absolutely rip your guts out.  It did mine and I don’t have kids.  What was meant to be a tribute to a murdered friend, this award winning crime documentary is about the child custody battle between baby Zachary’s grandparents and Zachary’s mother, who also happens to be accused of killing the baby’s father.  Grab the tissues and get ready to punch some stuff.

14. “Away from Her”- My guy’s grandmother had Alzheimer’s disease, which was why we were drawn to put this one in our queue.  Glad we did, it’s a gem. It’s about a husband’s struggle with moving his Alzheimer’s-stricken wife to a nursing facility.  Julie Christie is amazing in this film.

15.  “A Map for Saturday”- Wow!  This was a great movie to watch as we plan for our big adventure.  This documentary reveals a world of long-term, solo travel through the stories of backpackers on four continents.  Again, more awards won here.

16. “Veronica Guerin”- Based on the life of an Irish journalist of the same name, this intriguing flick follows her investigation of Dublin’s underground drug trade with shocking consequences.  Another movie where the injustices portrayed will piss you off.  But Cate Blanchett’s performance will not.  Stellar.

17.  “Hangover”- If you’ve read the entire list thus far, you can probably tell I am not a fan of big studio films.  I am more an independent/documentary kinda chick.  Thinking movies.  This is not one of those.  We hardly ever go to the theater, so it takes a great trailer to motivate us to go to the box office.  Plus, my guy’s brother got married this year, so we all went together.    What a pleasant surprise!  A movie made in the last decade that is actually WORTH SEEING!  WOOHOO!  (that’s the voice in my head that we call “Sarcasm”)  This movie is side-busting funny, and one of those that gets funnier the more you watch it.  Definitely one to add to your DVD collection.

18. “Garbage Warrior”- I talked about this film in an earlier post, so I won’t say much except you should watch this.

19. “Food, Inc.”- See #18.  Earlier review here.

20.  Ok, since I couldn’t come up with an even 20, here’s where I list a few that we don’t recommend.  You know, the kind where you wish you could get the 2 hours back that you spent watching the movie?  Right now I am hearing the voice of my mother… “If you don’t have anything nice to say…” You can complete that one.  But, I feel it is my duty to keep you from watching these:

“Knowing” with Nicholas Cage.  You know the drill… the apocalypse and aliens.  Predictable and boring.

“Push” with Dakota Fanning.  About the government using people with superhero powers. Also predictable and boring.  Sorry, Dakota.

“Wendy &  Lucy” with Michelle Williams.  About a girl and her dog.  I love dogs.  I do not love this film.

“Koyaanisqatsi”  About how we are crapping up the Earth. Yes, we get what you are trying to say here, but not very effectively.  We watched the entire film in fast forward, waiting for something interesting to happen.  The only way I think anyone could get any enjoyment out of watching this is if they had taken some type of mind altering drug.  I still have nightmares about the music in this one.

So there you have it! I would love to hear what you guys out there are watching and loving (or hating!)  Let the comments commence….

Leave a Reply

Categories

