Posted by: conradvisionquest | December 24, 2009

The Spirit of Giving

I’m a pretty selfish person.  I don’t want to be this way, but it’s hard to change something overnight when it’s been a part of you for over three decades.  But, I don’t really expect anything from anyone else, either.  So, when I experience the spirit of giving, it’s a pleasant surprise.

it's so close to your mouth, but don't eat it!

In my recent posting frenzy and return to Etsy as a buyer, I have come to know and really like Sosae, cool chick and the owner of Virtue Natural, an Etsy shop that sells yummy bath and body stuff.  She makes deliciously flavored lip balms and organic scrubs.  AND in between making tons of delicious body goodies & being freakin’ hilarious, she makes time for this little gem of a blog.  Because we both have a deranged sense of humor, we hit it off right away.

Being the kind soul she is, she sent me some free Virtue Natural samples.  What? But you don’t really know me, and I can’t do anything for you.  You’re just gonna send me FREE stuff?  That’s crazy!  She popped it in the mail and I received it in no time (faster than some of the stuff I actually paid money for!)

Rub a dub dub, I smell like lemon poppy seed muffins in the tub!

What I received:

Organic Cocoa Butter Lip Balm in Lemon Cream Pie scent: This stuff really is THE balm!  It is very moisturizing to the lips, making them soft instead of waxy.  And the scent is amazing!  Even my pooches said so!

Organic Body Scrubs in Lemon Poppy Seed Muffin and Mint Chocolate Cupcake scents:  I used to be a big body wash user, but now that it’s winter this scrub really hits the spot.  This scrub is loaded with skin-loving mango butter and organic virgin coconut oil. The exfoliator is organic and raw evaporated cane juice.  Just like her description says, it’s “never greasy. It is ultra-hydrating, and perfectly suited to treat dry, itchy winter skin.”  ALL true!

Virtue Natural is currently closed for the holiday, but check out her shop anyway and click on her past sales.  You can see some of the yummy goodness she has been delivering to satisfied customers everywhere!

Sosae’s generosity moved me to return the favor, so I immediately went into my “crafting loft” and whipped her up some custom paper goodies, which I sent to her along with some handmade note cards from my old Etsy shop.  It was the least I could do.

Something about this time of year brings alive the Spirit of Giving.  The rest of the year it may be limping and gasping for air, but now a stranger may do something that makes your insides turn warm and (I have to say it) fuzzy. Or you may be that fuzzy friend for someone else.  Try and bring that Spirit to the other months of the year!

Responses

  1. I am so honored! WOW! What a beautiful gesture… Thank you from the bottom of my heart, Wendy. Giving your time and energy to say these lovely things means so much to me. I am honored. You’re a kindred spirit.

    • no, thank YOOOOUU!


Leave a Reply

Categories

