Posted by: conradvisionquest | December 14, 2009

Not Tuna Salad Recipe

I have attempted to go completely vegetarian for years now without success (until recently after watching Food, Inc- see previous post!) .  I think part of the reason for that is most of the vegetarian recipes I have found don’t look that filling to me, or they are too complicated or have very expensive ingredients.   Enter the “Not Tuna Salad” recipe.  This little number has proven to be a formidable contender for my usual tuna salad.  I’ve been eating these sandwiches all week!  If you try it let me know what you think…

Ingredients:

-one can chick peas or garbanzo beans (potato poTAHto) drained and rinsed

-one stalk celery, chopped

-1/2 onion, chopped

-1 tbsp Vegenaise

-1 tbsp lemon juice

-1 teaspoon dried dill weed

-salt & pepper to taste

Put rinsed chick peas into a medium sized bowl and mash with a fork.  This takes a little time and elbow grease. Then add in the rest of your ingredients and mix well.  Of course, you can add or remove any ingredients you like.  I have used red onion, sweet pickle relish, and a little more mayo to this recipe with great results.  It’s so simple and so YUM!

**Updates!! Also try these other variations: add capers, dijon mustard, chopped sundried tomatoes, or flakes of Dulse (seaweed that you can get at most health food stores, adds an ocean-y flavor).

Serve on wheat pita bread, sourdough, or use in a lettuce wrap.  Or substitute the mayo for your favorite salad dressing. The possibilities are deliciously endless.

Responses

  1. Awesome! I have like 30 cans of chickpeas in my cupboard (my parents were born and raised in Baghdad, so homemade hummus is a must!) I keep wanting more chickpea recipes! So cool – I’ll give this recipe a go this weekend.

  2. […] remain as tight lipped as I can be, and happily make my mock tuna sandwich out of chick peas, and know that I am eating a diet that is as free from suffering as I can make […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

