Posted by: conradvisionquest | December 11, 2009

Holy Crap, Food Inc.!

Ok, I kinda knew what I was getting into before I watched this movie. And I’ve seen other movies about the food industry.  But none that have/will make as long-lasting an impact as this one.   It all ties into why we are taking our 2010 trip out west.  We want to see for ourselves what is happening on our nations’s farms, and hear from the farmers what their concerns and issues are.  I don’t just want to swallow this movie, although my heart says this is truly what is going on in our country, at face value without asking questions and finding out for myself.

I STRONGLY urge you to watch this film.  I only hope it will outrage you as much as it has outraged me on so many levels.

1- The treatment (or lack thereof) of farm animals is horrific

2- The fact that we have sat idly by and let big business take control of our food supply, and continue to do so, is outrageous.

3- The “I don’t want to know” attitude of people is dumbfounding.  I know ignorance is bliss, but when it comes to your life and the life of our planet, I would hope that people would rise up and want to know what is going on, and act accordingly.

Responses

  1. Took your advice and rented this – wow, truly disturbing movie. Don’t know if you’ve seen “The World According to Monsanto” and “The Future of Food,” but it’s similar in scope and message. Very disturbing stuff. Very important also. I wish more people would concern themselves with these things. The movie-writers are correct in saying how far we’ve fallen: we don’t even know the origins of the food we’re eating!

  2. Hey, Sosae! Yeah, we saw “The Future of Food” awhile back, but it didn’t have as much of an impact on me as this did. Maybe I was in a different place back then… Anyway, I’m having a hard time eating meat now, which is a good thing because I’ve been tryin to go completely veg for years now. We’ll see if it takes this time…

    I am so outraged that more people don’t know about this, don’t WANT to know about this, or don’t care.


Leave a Reply

Categories

