Posted by: conradvisionquest | February 1, 2010

Holy Crap! Where did that come from?

Because I am such a fan of the word “crap,” I wondered where in the world this word came from.  I remember something about some fella named Thomas Crapper, but I wasn’t sure if this guy was for real or not.  And, because I have nothing else of value to say today (I’m not implying that this information is valuable, but it could be to some people) I decided to make my wondering a post.

Why do I love the word “crap” you ask? It’s just funny sounding and funny to say (don’t believe me? say it over and over. yes, out loud!), and in case you haven’t figured it out by now, I’m silly in an adolescent boy kinda way.

I discovered that yes, Thomas Crapper was most likely a real person that lived in the 1800’s.  Contrary to popular belief, however, he did not invent the crapper.  He was an English  plumber of sorts, but none of his inventions involved, well, crapping.  Poor guy wouldn’t have a chance with that name these days.

The origins of the word crap, according to Word Wide Words, are as follows:

Crap is actually Middle English. It seems to be a mixture of two older words — one thread comes from Dutch krappen, to pluck off, cut off, or separate; the other may be from Old French crappe, siftings or waste or rejected matter, from medieval Latin crappa, chaff.

Then I wondered, do people consider this a bad word?  If so, then I’m in trouble!  (btw, if I have offended anyone with the excessive use of this word on my blog, honestly, I don’t give a crap!) WikiAnswers response to the question “Is ‘crap’ a swear word?”  is “No,  crap isn’t a swear word but it’s quite rude.” But, upon further digging, I found that some consider this word to be a bad word.  I even came across this petition trying to get the word “declassified” as a cuss word at their school.

So there you have it.  I hope you have enjoyed this thorough investigation of the word crap.  Now carry on…


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

